Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Batman; Return of the Caped Crusaders: Nothing could have prepared me for this...

Unfortunately, the review of the original TV show is going to have to wait a little bit, that one needs more time.

Up until this point, I haven't had any direct experience with 1966's Batman TV series. I've seen the references, the memes, and all the talk on the show, but I've yet to fully experience it in any capacity. I'm probably not alone in that department, it came out in 1966 after all, I wasn't born until 29 years later. Surfice to say, not even the greatest of memes could have prepared me for what I'd gotten myself into with a movie 50 years later. Well, let's see where this rabbit hole goes.


Wednesday, 19 July 2017

The Incredible Adventures of Wallace and Gromit: Anyone for some cheese?

Rest in Peace Peter Sallis

I admit I'm almost ashamed this one took so long to do. It shouldn't be a shock to hear that I have a lean towards animation over live action, while a strong part of it was my childhood, where most of the cartoons and animations I watched were really good (in my opinion at the time, time is cruel after all) and a lot of live action things I saw were Tween dramas my sister loved to watch that I still hate to this day, the other part in it is creativity. While it might seem like a bad excuse, I do think animation is truly limitless in its potential for creative ideas, taking away what little restraints there are in live action. To me, its a shame that some animation styles have all but died out, such as traditional/ traditional water colour (take a guess as to why. Here's a hint, they just had a big expo over the weekend) and Stop motion, or to use today's case as an example, Claymation. The only difference between the two being what was used. Stop motion being the overarching style, where instead of filming in seconds, filming is done with pictures to allow for the animators to re-position the objects in each frame when needed. Claymation is the same thing but whereas Stop motion can be with anything, Claymation focuses on the use clay for the main objects, such as people and animals, and in the realm of Claymation, two names stick out, and rightfully so. Wallace and Gromit... or Robot Chicken depending on who you are, but this is kid friendly so Wallace and Gromit!



Sunday, 16 July 2017

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe: Yes, I own a Switch now

And unlike last time, I'm reviewing this as someone who owns the game and the system.

Ports, many people hate them, many see them as a waste of development time. Me? Well it depends on the state of the port but overall, my stance on the matter is "They're done by backup teams with a small time frame, meant to help fill out a library. I would rather have ports of good games then shovel ware". After having this for close to two weeks, and playing with my fellow volunteers at the Tech Games Fest this year, I think it'll be good to tackle this, and give it an update seeing as when I last reviewed Mario Kart 8, I didn't experience most of the DLC. Also, your eyes don't decieve you, this is a review of a Mario Game on its own, though technically Mario Kart Wii got their first... also reviewed around the same time... should I just do Mario Karts around this time and make it a trend?


Wednesday, 12 July 2017

Transformers Marathon II; Rescue Bots: Aww, no love for Defensor

Fun fact, was going to do a Rescue Heroes joke until I saw that one of them was Blades.

Like seriously, all you're missing is a motor cycle and an Ambulance, though I think swapping Groove out for a bulldozer would be a good idea. Combiner Wars swapped him with a Swat truck after all

Thursday, 6 July 2017

Mediaholics Promotional Video



Two months in the making, all for the sake of a promotional video. To look at least a little professional. This also has a few teasers at upcoming plans. Can you spot them all?

Huge thanks to Marcus from Inkblot Creations for the audio visualizer and CJ for the new artwork. You can find Inkblot Creations at https://www.facebook.com/inkblotcreations/ and CJ's work at http://courtenayjane.tumblr.com/

CREDITS
Credits:
Content Creators: Liam “Blaster” Sanders, Marissa “keybug55”
Trailer Editing: Liam “Blaster” Sanders
Audio Visualizer: Marcus Mathews
Site Artwork: Courtenay Jane

XY&Z: Mark de Groot
Originally performed by: Rica Matsumoto
From: Pokémon XYZ
Link to his video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBZna0xAhTY

A Brief Winter Trek
Composed by: C-Curt
Original composition by: Arata Iiyoshi, Atsuhiro Ishizuna
From: Pokémon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team/ Blue Rescue Team
Link to song: http://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02994

1AM
Composed by: Manaka Tominaga, Shiho Fujii, Kazumi Totaka
From: Animal Crossing: Let’s go to the City

Sun & Moon Artwork Recreations: Kansoku
Link to artwork: http://imgur.com/a/HpLHc

Toa Nuva (Okoto) - Bionicle 2016: PANGOLIN-2
Link to artwork: http://pangolin-2.deviantart.com/art/Toa-Nuva-Okoto-Bionicle-2016-600756155

Footage credits:
Moana    
Walt Disney Pictures

The A Team   
20th Century Fox

Star vs the Forces of Evil 
Disney Television Animation

Tiny Toon Adventures  
Warner Bros. Animation

Night in the Woods  
Infinite Fall

Kirby Triple Deluxe  
HAL Laboratory

Transformers Combiner Wars: Bruticus vs. Sky Reign 
Hasbro

BIONICLE 2016 Toa Okoto Commercial
LEGO

Blackest Night   
DC Comics

Deadpool kills Deadpool 
Marvel Comics

Pokémon Adventures  
Shogakukan, Viz Media

Mediaholics Playlist: Big Blue 
Mediaholics (for editing, song credits in video)

Mediaholics Playlist: Battle for Storm Hill
Mediaholics (for editing, song credits in video)

Mediaholics Podcast Episode 11: PrE3
Mediaholics

The Beginning of Adventure 
Courtney Jane

Welcome to the Mystery Dungeons
Courtney Jane

Mediaholics Cinema: Jem and the Holograms
Mediaholics

Animal Crossing: New Leaf 
Nintendo

Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer
Nintendo

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth 
Media Vision

Super Smash Brothers Brawl 
Sora Ltd

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate 
Capcom

Thunderbirds are Go  
ITV Studios

Transformers: The Movie 
Sunbow Productions

Shantae ½ Genie Hero  
WayForward Technologies

Kingdom Hearts 3
Square Enix

Pokémon Sun & Moon: The Series
OLM, Inc

Red vs. Blue   
Rooster Teeth Productions

Digimon Tamers  
Toei Animation

The Lego Movie   
Village Roadshow Pictures

The Dark Knight Returns 
Warner Premiere,

Star Wars: The Clone Wars 
Lucasfilm,

Avatar: The Last Airbender 
Nickelodeon Animation Studios
Avatar: The Legend of Korra 
Nickelodeon Animation Studios

Sonic Unleashed  
Sega

Freedom Planet   
GalaxyTrail

Super Mario Galaxy  
Nintendo

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story 
Lucasfilm Ltd.

Pokémon Sun & Moon  
Game freak

Combiner Wars   
Hasbro, IDW Publishing

Ghostbusters   
Delphi Films

Fire Emblem Awakening  
Intelligent Systems

Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky Beyond Darkness, and Time 
Chunsoft

Transformers
di Bonaventura Pictures

Batman: The Killing Joke 
DC Comics

Zootopia   
Walt Disney Pictures

Portal 2    
Valve Corporation

Digimon Adventure tri  
Toei Animation

Animaniacs   
Amblin Entertainment

Big Hero 6   
Walt Disney Pictures

Black Panther   
Marvel Studios

BIONICLE: Ignition  
Lego, DC Comics

Hyrule Warriors   
Omega Force

Sonic Mania
Headcannon, PagodaWest Games

Yu-Gi-Oh: The Dark Side of Dimensions
Studio Gallop

Ducktales
Disney Television Animation

Professor Layton vs Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney
Level-5, Capcom

LEGO Marvel Superheroes 2
TT Games

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
Nintendo
Pokémon XY: The Series  
OLM, Inc

Gravity Falls   
Disney Television Animation

Freedom Planet 2  
GalaxyTrail

Superman: The Animated Series 
Warner Bros. Animation

Minecraft   
Mojang

LEGO Dimensions  
Traveller’s Tales

The Avengers   
Marvel Studios

Mario Kart 8   
Nintendo

Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire
Game Freak

All credit for clips and credited artwork belong to the creators. All rights belong to the rights holders of the source material. We only take credit for any posts written about them or videos made on them (made in fair use) that are posted to Mediaholics.

Links to Mediaholics content:
Main site: http://mediaholicreviews.blogspot.com.au/
Mediaholics Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0UmlA10uAY8JFBgyAE4PJVbaZZbe3dTb
Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIM5kMZw90Ml7zUFOuaLRgg
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/mediaholicreviews
Blaster’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/Blaster944
Keybug’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/keybug55
Tumblr: http://mediaholics.tumblr.com/

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

Transformers Marathon II; Robots in Disguise 2015: They really should stop using that subtitle



Whereas Transformers Prime was a combination of Animated and Bayformers, Robots in Disguise 2015, its direct sequel, was a combination of Prime and Rescue Bots (next week). Doing this one early as I have been keeping up with RID 2015, so unlike Rescue Bots, it’s the perfect thing to review while I’m at the Tech Games Fest during this week. So with that out of the way…

Saturday, 1 July 2017

Hollow Knight Review


                Hollow Knight started as a Kickstarter in 2016. The aspiring indie group Team Cherry promoted a 2D platformer that takes place in a surreal world of insects. The Kickstarter was very successful raising almost $60k AUD (almost 40k USD). Unfortunately I was never there for the Kickstarter itself. I came across the game on Steam, and I also heard of its popularity floating around the internet. I played the game with my boyfriend, us being overachievers and finding ways to clear 100% with our first run of the game.

Wednesday, 28 June 2017

Transformers Marathon II; Transforms Animated: CHINS!!!

And now to jump back to a post Bayformers era. The 2007 movie has just come out, a new cartoon comes with it. Compared to the 2007 movie, this is far more kid friendly, and panders a lot to old school fans. How well does it pull it off though? Also, I hope you like chins.



Wednesday, 21 June 2017

Transformers Marathon II; Robots in Disguise 2001: That was a drastic jump

EDIT: It should be brought up that, during the time this was being aired (encase 2001 wasn't a give away) aspects of the show was censored upon western release due to the terrorist attacks on 9/11, leading to confusing plot threads later on in the series. I did not bring it up in the main review because... I never got up to that point as I couldn't bring myself to get up to that point.

Behold, the series right before when I started, Robots in Disguise (for the purposes of this I'll be referring to it as RiD 2001 as they reuse the name for another show which is getting a revisit this marathon along with several toylines and I already used my "no not that one" joke and I'd rather not reuse it yet), and this was a pretty big jump from Beast Machines and then the jump to Armada was just as big. But to give you the heads up now, the only reason the jump was big was because the pit that RiD 2001 is in. I've seen talk of this being a filler show between Beast Machines and Armada, and if that's true, it shows.

Sunday, 18 June 2017

Mediaholics Podcast Episode 12: Post E3



One whole week of E3 news, and now two people come to talk about it before going to recover from a week of livestreams.

Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Transformers Marathon II; Beast Machines: Troop builder drones, everywhere!

What do you do after an initial toyline, repaints of said toyline with new figures made around ridiculous gimmicks and then a line of animals to robots? Apparently you make vehicles with faces and give the animals to the Borg where they nerf transformers? Um... Okay then... Let's see where this goes.

Wednesday, 7 June 2017

Transformers Marathon II; TF Beast Wars: People say this looks prime... why?

Welcome to the second Transformers Marathon, with the subtitle of Revenge of the Bay. But because I can't put the whole title into a tweet along with the link for the site, Transformers Marathon II in the title it is. While the first marathon primarily focused on the origins of the franchise, what I personally grew up with and the live action incarnations. This time it'll be focusing on what I never got into, in terms of the shows, and post bayformers shows... I kinda ran out of movies (to my knowledge). Six shows are up this time, the Japanese exclusives are for another time. Beast Wars, Beast Machines. Robots in Disguise 2001, Animated, Rescue Bots, and Robots in Disguise 2015. Some of these are going to be more Opening Impressions rather then reviews mostly just due to time, I am still working on the trailer after all. One of them being what's up first, the Beast wars. Time to find out what the whole Team Monkey> Truck thing is all about. Oh and as a side note, I've got nothing to say on the recent things happening in the IDW comics, so don't ask for my opinion on Onslaught x Blast Off.



Sunday, 4 June 2017

LEGO Ideas Set number 21309: NASA Apollo Saturn V

"We choose to go to the moon. We choose to go to the moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one that we are willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one which we intend to win, and the others, too." John F. Kennedy, Rice Stadium, September 12 1962.

Mediaholics Podcast Episode 11: PrE3



That time of the year again, so lets get the Pre show talk out of the way first.

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

Pokemon Adventures; Black and White: Not even going to touch the political joke

However its very easy to. I can almost hear it now, people being up in arms because the white dragon representing truth and the black dragon representing ideals. Why do I keep making jokes about racism when it comes to Unova? Because otherwise I'd have to try and think of original Trump jokes and that would imply I care about US politics. Welcome to Unova.

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Suicide Squad: What happened to three strikes and you're out?

Or for that matter, how bad does one of these movies need to be in order for WB to consider this a failure? While yes I know the movies have been successful financially, none of them have been considered as good movies yet. To say nothing of the behind the scenes stories about this movie which make you consider how this movie was pushed this hard to be released, and you have to stop and wonder what they're smoking, and where you can get some. Welcome to the Suicide Squad.


Sunday, 21 May 2017

Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer: Time to pull the rug out

*THIS IS THE CONCLUSION TO THE HAPPY HOME DESIGNER JOURNALS*

If you noticed that the journal posts have been getting shorter, there is a good reason for it and I intend to cover it here in this review. This does not mean that Marissa's journals in New Leaf are ending (to my knowledge) and the reason one wasn't out this week is because she was very busy this week. I'm also not the one to speak to in regards to the stability of Mediaton anyway, as it is her project. Onward to the review!


Wednesday, 17 May 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy: Why is there going to be 7 Marvel movies next year?

Seriously, why? And yes I know they're not all MCU movies, but that's still a lot of Marvel Superheros, and that's before counting the new Lego game coming. Well, what does that mean for here? Basically, it means there's going to be quite a lot more Marvel stuff this year, as I'd rather not review 30 marvel movies in a row. Along with this review, I'm going to do the Sony Spider Man movies in July, to celebrate Homecoming. Septembers are going to become Superheroes month (however until I catch up, they're not going to be limited to September. Such as in November where I'll review the first Lego Marvel Super Heroes game to celebrate the new game. You know Holywood, too much of a good thing is an actual thing. Just saying... And please don't ask me to play catch up on something like Disney movies, I will die before I catch up to those!


Sunday, 14 May 2017

Mediaholics Toybox: Revenge of The Fallen Leader Class Optimus Prime

Ahh Bayverse, you're going to be a pain in my ass again come October aren't you? You and Jem have now brought my bar so low that you make me question if I should review what I call the cinematic duo of the dammed. I'm doing another Transformers month next month because of that movie. But, I will admit that the mountain of Energon sent out of the bay bots' waste disposal units has some gems in among the rough smells of bloated corporations making movies to appeal to as many demographics as possible, even those who shouldn't be allowed to drive due to a lack of brain cells. One of those was the first movie as I'm often more lenient on first films as I expect there to be lessons learned from them. And some were, just the wrong ones. Another gem was in fact the Revenge of The Fallen toy line, which gained the most from the movies as it was a blast of creativity and throughout its run, gave us a wide variety of movie faithful bot and con designs and classic characters that were given the Classics revival with a touch of Bayverse realism to create some really interesting designs. Might do some more of those later as what movie toys I do have from RoTF I do enjoy overall. One of them being today's subject, the original trillogy version of that one bot who likes faces and the removal of them, Optimus Prime.


Saturday, 13 May 2017

OneShot Review

                
               Imagine waking up in a world where there is no sun, and the worlds only hope is you. All the weight of saving the world being dropped on your shoulders the second you step out of the house. Well, really you’re not the messiah of the world, but it’s Niko, the small cat like boy that you help control. You yourself are actually the god of the world, and you have to help Niko save it.

                The game plays off like your standard RPG maker game at first. Walk around, collect items, and solve puzzles. The puzzles in OneShot are one of the most interesting features in this game. Some of them are sometimes simple, but the ones that stand out can leave you a bit stumped or even amazed. I dare not spoil on what these puzzles are exactly like, but the majority of them involve breaking the 4th wall.

                The world of OneShot has three areas to it, The Barrens, the Glen, and the Refuge. The art and color to these areas are dark, but pleasing to the eye. You can tell which characters come from which area just by their look. Sometimes you can see full pixel art scenes, and they are beautiful to look at. The length of the game is not daunting, but you might have to go through the three short areas another time if you want the full experience.

                Characters in the world are very memorable. Everyone’s personalities flow from their appearance to their way of speaking. I never found a character here that I disliked. If anything, you might be the most attached to the main character Niko, because of all the time you spend with him.


                The game itself is pretty sensitive on how you play it. So sensitive that if you close the game and reopen it, Niko will be worried that you have left him. Just be sure that you don’t close the game when you’re outside, I’m warning you. There are times in the game where you might have to check files in the game’s folder itself, but that is all part of the experience. Don’t be alarmed what the game might throw at you. The difficulty may be easy, but it’s not too forgiving when it comes to choices. Remember, you only have One Shot.

               Overall, OneShot is a really fun experience. I'd say if you're a fan of story based RPG's, it's worth a shot. There's no combat, but the story of the game is one of it's strongest points. The game is available on Steam for you to try out.

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Pokemon Adventures - Heart Gold & Soul Silver: YOU WILL BOW TO YOUR LORD AND SAVIOR JOHTO!

This is an arc dedicated to Arceus, what part of "will take low hanging fruit when appropriate" wasn't clear from Moana?

"The original one breathed alone before there was a universe. And when the universe was created, its shards became these plates. The powers of these plates are shared between all Pokémon. And the rightful barer of a plate draws power from it. Two being of time and space... set free from the original one. Two make matter, and three make spirit. Thereby shaping the world."

Timeline: 3 years after Emerald, almost directly before Diamond, Pearl and Platinum.Ties up plot thread from Fire Red and Leaf Green Arc. Ready? Go!

Saturday, 6 May 2017

ACNL: Medaiton Journal Week 4

Week 4: The Star Under The Marquee

               The Club opened the start of the week. Inside before the offical doors opened was Shrunk who asked me to build him the club in the first place. He said he was actually some sort of comedian back in his prime. At the cost of food he told me a joke. It's kind of a weird feeling....like some sort of emotion came over me that day...
It was actually raining that day so visiting the Doc cheered me up.

               Oddly enough the very next day when it cleared up, there was a mysterious thing sitting in the ground. It's called a Gyroid, and it gives off a mysterious presence. This particular one was called a  mini timpanoid. I like how it sounds honestly.

               Eventually, the shopping town grew and two new stores were added at the same time. T&T  Mart got renovated into Super T&T. All had happened is that the store got bigger, but I did find an interesting item in there while I was looking around. 
               The item is called a megaphone and man is it a useful item. You just call your villager's name and they will answer you. Super useful when doing tasks, I always have it in my letter pockets just in case.

               The other store is actually a hair salon called Shampoodle. It is run by a dog named Harriet. I tried to get a new hairstyle, but I feel that the hair I got was kind of...reddish for my taste. Unfortunately, the hair salon could only be used once a day, so I had to be stuck with this tea red hair for the rest of it. 

               Before April ended, there was the annual Weeding Day event. Leif from the flower shop hosts it, and urges me to pick all the weeds from the town. It wasn't that hard at all since I almost always tend to the gardens around town. He gave me a cute little Cosmos Fan for my troubles.

               One night there was a beautiful meteor shower. I wished on a couple of stars that were shooting by. I poured my heart into those wishes too. Maybe there is something up there that can hear me?

               Before the week passed on the final day of April, I went diving. I met an interesting otter who would give me words of wisdom. He also lent me an item in exchange for a scallop that I found. He was a pretty chill dude. 
               The very last thing I did was visit the Club on that Saturday. They say the famous musician K.K. Slider preforms every week there. He was there of course! I spent a long time there listening to his music. I always loved how that dog can just change the atmosphere with a few chords from his guitar. There's something nostalgic about his presence. He gave me a bootleg of K.K. Joungora, so I felt pretty good that night.

               The Dream Suite project was finally completed! Now you can live the growth of the town with us! The dream address is provided for others with the game and the Dream Suite to visit the town of Mediaton.
Dream Address: 5B00-0061-560D

Wednesday, 3 May 2017

Moana: "What can I say except you're welcome"

I'm not above taking the low hanging fruit, and of course I was going to use that as the title.

Something tells me that a lot of people probably never heard of Polynesia. Many, like myself, have probably heard of the two largest collection of islands in the area, being Hawaii and New Zealand, Easter Island thanks to the Easter Island heads, along with potentially Samoa thanks to it being in a place prone to cyclones and flooding, but not much after that, right? I admit I'm guilty of this too, I never studied global geography during high school, let alone its culture as the most experience I had with Polynesian culture, was pre soft lawsuit G1 BIONICLE,  Lilo and Stich, Pokemon Sun and Moon, and modern marketing's interpretation of Polynesian artwork as tattoos and necklaces, but that last one could be completely off, so make of it as you will. Basically, if you're coming here to find out how accurate of a representation this movie is of the culture, you're going to be dissapointed as I am not a credible source on the matter, why do you think I didn't bring up the representation of the culture when I was reviewing BIONICLE, or even mentioning the Matoran were once known as Tohunga, and that there are reasons why the islands pre Bara Magna all end with Nui? I'm just here to review the movie, as a movie.


Sunday, 30 April 2017

Opinion Piece (?): Star Wars solo film ideas

The misadventures of Happy Home Designer, will return next week, as I want to do this post, and I don't post on a Saturday anymore.

With the financial success of Rogue One, that means we're getting even more solo movies based in the Star Wars universe. But, who could be good characters to hold up an entire movie? Well, while I don't know much about Legends, I know quite a few characters, both in cannon and in legends, that could make for some interesting movies. Care to find out who?

I should note, while these are numbered, they aren't in an order of "who I want to see more". Like I said, this is an ideas post, to see if anyone else is interested. None of these are fleshed out, as they all focus on a general idea you could do for a story with these characters.

Saturday, 29 April 2017

Update: Change of Pace

               You're probably wonder why there is no Mediaton uploaded this week. That's because I'm going to change the format to align with my personal schedule. Every Mediaton journal is going to happen every other week now, and the format will be changed from days to general events. 
               
               Although, the Saturdays without Mediaton journals are not going to be barren. I will put up a short opinion piece every other Saturday, or maybe even a review! I hope you keep checking back on this site for new content as I check back on the residents of Mediaton. I'm not the only one here making content either, you can also read up on Blaster's misadventures in Happy Home Designer among other reviews.

               See you soon! -keybug55 (Marissa)

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Rogue One, A Star Wars Story: If Rebels is 3.5, then would this be 3.8?

Oh know, we're going Kingdom Hearts levels of procrastination, even though Episode 4's been a thing for 40 years! This is going to be a pain once Forces of Destiny comes out. And yes I have seen the new Last Jedi trailer, I was never going to beat the Star Wars fans on youtube that have independently analyzed every piece of that trailer.

If Disney wanted to make Star Wars a yearly release schedule, then episode 7-9 alone wasn't going to cut it. They planned to make solo films based on other points in the Star Wars mythos and that plan relied on the success of today's subject, which from here on out I'll be referring to as just Rogue One. Encase you couldn't tell by the next movie after Last Jedi being a movie based on Han Solo, it worked. So now I get to have a solo Solo joke for 2019, hooray!


Sunday, 23 April 2017

Mediaholics Journal: Blaster's Happy Home Designing Week (16/4/17-23/4/17)

I may have gone overboard with the public works projects.. externally at least, but this is also a couple of extra days because I felt like spending coins to read.

I had five public works projects and, because these flesh creatures are easily satisfied, these projects got the bare minimum needed, or aesthetically pleasing in their work, they were happy with a shop that sold basket balls and nothing else, because for some reason they wanted a classroom full of gym equipment, and another which literally just has a cash register in it. "But thou must" works way you flesh peasants!

During those days, and a few after it, I had also finished paying off my tutorials, giving me access to facial modifications, refurbishing furniture, more variable interior layouts... decorating with insects and fish... for some reason, and others that I may never use. I feel so sorry for their religious figure, to have it look down on them and ask what went wrong. Oh and I made a log cabin for someone called Erik as the only house I did the entire week. He got something better then the facilities did.















Saturday, 22 April 2017

ACNL: Medaiton Journal Week 3

Week 3: Eggcelent Holiday


Sorry if this week is kinda late and…barren…life got in the way. No poll for this week currently, Isabelle has a weird system with holidays blame her.

         Day 15:
                I walked out and my town was a mess. There were an unhealthy amount of rocks with…eggs in them? Eggs buried in the ground? Even eggs in the sky?!?! Maybe it had to do with the rabbit in town square?

Yes well today is Bunny Day! The day where…a rabbit comes over and messes up my town with eggs. He said if I found all six types of eggs I will get a special prize. Unfortunately, things didn’t turn out well. I found the other 5 but the 6th egg was pretty much unobtainable at the time. The 6th egg was somewhere out in the ocean and well…I couldn’t get to it with the tools I had. Now I just have a bunch of eggs I need to clean up in my town square. I am a busy mayor that is collecting money for the Dream Suite so I didn’t have time to clean it up. Guess they’re just going to sit there for the time being.

All hope wasn’t lost though. I found a slingshot so I can shoot down some presents from the sky. Although the only thing I could find was useless sky eggs. I’ll see a proper use for the slingshot next time.

An old Tortoise was sitting at the dock. His name is Tortimer, and believe it or not he was supposed to be the original mayor before I got here. I kind of wanted to give him a talking to since he just randomly dropped this job on me to go on a vacation or something. I held back because I honestly like this job, so I really have to thank him.

The old tortoise said I can go to the island whenever I wanted starting tomorrow. He mentioned something about a sailor that will take me for a fee. I’m honestly curious what they will have there.

Day 16:
A strange animal came to visit my house when I woke up. I have no idea how long he was waiting there…pretty creepy now that I think of it like that. The strange animal’s name was Shrunk, and he is asking me to sign a petition. 
The petition was for a Club to be built in the town plaza, and he hoped that loud music wouldn’t be an issue. Of course I was on board, as well as the villagers. Not one of them said no, but I can understand, especially Tex who specializes in music. Shrunk said I’ll have to wait a while until the club is officially built. I think it had a stupid name like…Club LOL or something like that. I honestly wish I could rename the club something else but…what can you do?
I visited the Town Hall to find Isabelle sleeping during her work. She was worried and swears she was dreaming of doing work. 
Honestly I feel bad, how long has she been here anyway? Does she ever take weekends? She said that a visitor requested a Dream Suite to be made in town. I said sure, but it’ll be a while because it takes about 200k bells to build. I guess I’ll just have to be a bit patient.

                A shabby looking sailor was at the dock, just as Tortimer said. His name was Kappn’, pretty creative. I paid him 1k bells which is not a lot for me and we sailed to the island. 
A song later, the cloudy skies broke into sunshine and the island came into view. Walking in on the right was a souvenir stand containing an item that…I honestly needed yesterday, the wet suit.
 Walking out the island was small adorned with lychees and banana trees. For the rest of the day I farmed the mini games there until I got the wet suit. I was so exhausted afterwards that I forgot to bring back the fruit.

        Day 17: 
   Waking up I noticed a new house plot, again, super close to my house. The name on the plot was…Felyne? I’m pretty sure that I met him at the campsite not too long ago. Maybe he got inspired to move here?

A shoe store opened up in town. It was run by a skunk who calls himself Kicks. Pretty appropriate, although I have yet to see shoes that I really want from there.

At the local Retail store, Reese’s husband Cyrus finally returns to his duties. He refurbishes furniture which is nice to decorate homes with. I’ll remake the egg that Felyne gave me, but I’ll check on it tomorrow.

While I’m at Retail, I can give you a tip on how to make money. You know those gems that you can collect from breaking rocks? You can sell them in retail for about much more. Gems usually go for exactly 7,999 bells and villagers will always eat it up. You can always sell items for quadruple the original selling price as long as they’re not above 8k.

While on my daily trip to the museum Blathers was concerned about something. He wanted to expand the museum to have a second story, and asked me to get funds for it. I would do it now, except I still have the dream suite to worry about.


Day 18: 
Sure enough, it is in fact Felyne. He remembers me from the campsite and said he wanted to move here so badly. I guess he got fed up with the monsters back at his home? Why his room looks like a magma cavern is beyond me.

I visited Tex’s house. Normally I don’t talk about mundane visits but it’s just really unhealthy to keep a seahorse on electrical equipment. Yeah, I’m just going to point out fire/electrical hazards in my villager’s homes.

Butch was talking about how much he wanted to meet the new villager in town. He calls himself the “shadow mayor”. I honestly don’t feel comfortable with this. What does he do that gives him that title? Is he the one leaving pitfalls everywhere?

I picked up the egg I left at Retail. He called it a “Leviathan Egg”. It bounces around sometimes, almost eager to get out. The egg feels almost shocking…


Day 19: 
Felyne moves in and he’s walking around with a shovel. Not sure what he’s doing. I’m sure he saw huge monsters back at home, why would he want to dig up bones of normal dinosaurs here?
I went to T&T Mart and saw possibly the best item I’ve ever seen. I like to call it “The Grand Wheel of RNG”.  I think I’m going to design my room around this, where everything is colorful. I just have to get the right items. My house just recently got expanded, so more of a reason to redecorate.

I heard Wendy talk about Biff. I hear her talking about him a lot actually. I tried to hold myself back but…I think I actually ship them. Pretty much everyone else in the town ships them too. I think the one that’s left in the dark about this is Biff himself.

Day 20: 
Honestly not much happened today. It’s almost like the villagers got burned out or something. I tried to ask them about things to do but they just wouldn’t give me anything. The only thing of note that happened was that Wendy called me a stupid nickname. Nono just…keep calling me Muffin. Oh yeah, and I also had a change of clothes because my old clothes were getting too worn out.


Day 21:
Isabelle was hosting a Nature Day event. Not much happened, except I saw all the leftover eggs that were still not cleaned up due to my lazyness that week. She handed me a cool globe which was pretty rad.
I found a lost mitten who I found out it belonged to Felyne. First try again, I must be really lucky with these guesses. Not sure why he would want a mitten in the warmer season of spring. My only guess its part of some armor set or something, or maybe I’m thinking too into it.


Pinky gave me a present to give to Naomi. The present contained some ugly green melon shirt in which Naomi happily wore. The shirt she wore before was actually a really rare shirt. I think Pinky just made a sin against human and animal kind.


Note: Mediaton is getting a quick break next week, no polls this week